Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Show your ad here! Mail admin@walletfriendlywatchforum.com for rates

Advanced
Photographing the Milky Way: How I did it.
I had my interest sparked in astrophotography about a year ago when I was set up at a rural park, in the dark, waiting on the Aurora Borealis that never happened that night. Being a little bored, I noticed I could just make out the Milky Way in the sky with my eyes. So I did what seemed natural and tried to photograph it. I felt like I had the right gear to get it done, but was not prepared to do this the right way. I set the camera ISO to 800 and thought that would be plenty. I did not want it to look all noisy. I opened the aperture wide to f1.8 and I believe I did a manual bulb setting on shutter. I must have held the shutter open for a minute or more. The best image I got that night is below.

Compared to images I have seen online, that was unimpressive. I started studying the subject and watched a lot of youtube videos. The key is that you cannot keep the shutter open too long or you will get motion blurring from the Earth's rotation. Depending on your lens focal length, it may be as little as 8 seconds or up to 15 or 20 seconds with a very wide angle. That means the ISO must be cranked-up high, and there will be excessive noise more than likely. How is this fixed? We take many exposures of the same scene, then stack it up as layers to blend out the noise and make the apparent brightness increased.